I Wanna Do the Right Thing, When the Right Thing Counts

Michael Cobra
2 min readMay 20, 2023

--

How I stopped worrying about what to do next.

I’ve faced a lot of change in my role at work recently. So, I did what I always do when faced with new challenges and began making a list of the things that needed to be done. That way I could start crossing them off.

This time however, making the list wasn’t enough. I usually feel a sense of relief when finishing a list like this, but not this time. It wasn’t because it was daunting, but instead because the list of things to do wasn’t answering my questions.

So, I left work on a Friday and after dinner went to see a reunion show for a band I love, Rival Schools. The chorus of one of their songs, Wring it Out, includes the lyric “I wanna do the right thing, when the right thing counts” and upon hearing it live I realized that’s what I was looking for when I made that list. I was looking for my guideposts to make the right decisions moving forward.

So, this morning I deleted the list of “what’s” and began making a list of “why’s”. That list was much shorter and much more direct. They’re deeper than outcomes, they’re the list of reasons we’re doing the work and not the work itself. Those why’s are the unwavering and authentic destinations that benefit everyone and will keep the work honest. New obstacles and challenges are going to land on that list of what’s everyday. And, crossing them off a list alone isn’t enough to get past the next obstacle with sure footing. I’ve loosely done this in my head my entire career, but this time I wrote them down and that small step was the large perspective I needed. Now, when new obstacles do arise, these why’s are how I can stay focused on doing the right thing, when the right thing counts.

--

--

Michael Cobra

I am a design leader that helps brands and products disrupt, scale, and rethink how they work in the digital and physical worlds. Yes, Cobra is my real name.